A Beautiful Reason Why a Woman May Stop Writing Her Poetry

     During the early years after our first child was born, I used to spend a lot of time reading books on parenting.  In one of those books was one, perhaps odd, piece of information, presented as a fact.  I would come to remember that one particular fact from time to time over the years of breastfeeding and changing diapers, mulling it over in my head for it very much intrigued me.  I have long since given away the book and I can’t remember the author but here is how I remember her fact:  The time period during which a mother spends breastfeeding her child can become a time of decreased creativity.  However, don’t be discouraged, the time period after your child has weaned can sometimes be a period of bursting creativity as you have never known.

     During the years of my pregnancies, the years of nursing, and the following years when my children were still so very young, I wasn’t in fact very “creative.”  Certainly as a poet I went into an early retirement.  I didn’t write at all except for my numerous emails to my closest friends detailing every small piece of information about the beautiful new beings who came into my life and who I loved like no other.  During that time, and only that time, I experienced having my heart beat for the sole purpose of protecting, nourishing and serving other human beings.  During that period of time, and only that period of time, for the most part, I gave up my usual activities and needs, such as sleep, taking on my new role as mother to very young children.  What I believe now, in retrospect, is that during that time I was a very, very lucky woman–for the first time in my life I was completely living my poetry.  Surrounded by love and beauty, intimately connected, I couldn’t see the forest for the trees.  I couldn’t write a poem, because I was so far lost in it.

     Now that my children are older and getting more and more independent every day, my role as mother has changed from that role of being in complete service to other human beings, into a new more independent place where I take on mini roles as needed, roles such as confidant, occasional cook, advisor, teacher, student and the like.  I have also began to explore old interests  apart from my children such as being a nurse.  Now that I am not in complete service, wrapped in love and beauty and absolutely always connected, poetry has been coming to me as beautiful insights, insights that are apart from the stuff that makes up a lot of my current activity.  My poems feel to me like glimpses of the time I spent so close and caring for the beings who I will love forever like no others. 

     A beautiful reason a woman may stop writing her poetry is that she may be completely living it.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pamela Tepstein Pernicone
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 03:51:29

    I love it Jen.

    Reply

  2. zoe
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 12:57:34

    Beautiful Jen! For the first time in six years, I am neither nursing or pregnant and I can totally relate to the reasons for decreased creativity! Thanks for the glimpse of what is to come. It is amazing to see this time through your thoughtful lens.

    Reply

  3. aed12
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 20:24:19

    You make me smile with tears in my eyes….

    Reply

  4. Jack Glatter
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 20:51:57

    Insight expressed with powerful sensitivity.

    Reply

  5. The Wandering Quill
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 14:36:11

    Lovely words, living in life’s poem I never thought of that before, that most of life is in fact a poem just waiting to be written. Thank you lovely Mother.

    Reply

    • jeglatter
      Feb 28, 2012 @ 20:44:02

      If it is all a poetry, waiting to be expressed and shared, imagine the joy you have given me by reading my blog and taking time to comment. I appreciate it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

