If We Are Not Very Careful–A Reason A Girl May Stop Writing Her Poetry

As soon as I let go of the thought, “I need to be perfect,”

I become gorgeous.

Well awkward in my humanness,

But just glowing in my authenticity!

I have a voice that automatically comes

Attached to a giggle when I open my mouth, be myself and smile.

I am going to assume that this is what they were trying to teach me so many years ago.

They weren’t telling me to look nice, smile and be perfect

They just wanted me to look nice, smile and be me.

But to a girl who is just discovering her humanness,

To a girl who loves the beauty in perfection,

That girl knows that she will never really stand up.

And soon all the acts involved in hiding humanness drain her precious energy.

She concentrates so hard on seeming perfect,

Monitoring her outsides and pushing down her insides

You can almost watch to see the day that she loses her voice–

She looks nice, opens her mouth, forgets herself and smiles.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pasupatidasi
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 05:45:09

    awesome!

    Reply

  2. Grandfathersky
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 17:38:02

    … beauty is eternity looking at itself in the mirror, only you are eternity, and you are the mirror … Kahlil Gibran

    Reply

  3. IseeIwriteIam
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 00:54:29

    Love it!

    Reply

  4. Sheila Hurst
    Mar 03, 2012 @ 01:20:41

    So true – I love this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

