On This Anniversary of Loss

When I inhale, I feel a deep warm spot that aches with want for you

Come, let me hold you in my heart

Come fill this space of wanting

I miss you

I do know the truth–

Your body is a small bag of off white sand,

But once I felt you move like ocean waves inside me

Come back,

Be whole,

Brave, strong boy, your mother loves you

There are no words to mend what happened

I know your pain was immense

All that you deserved was your mother’s care, your mother’s kiss, your mother’s breast

Angels, let him feel me now, and Nirvan, if you can, come back

Come into that warm spot in my chest

Come snuggle down tight into my heart

With each breath, I am waiting.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maggie Mae I
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 06:24:33

    Wow…the longing, you can feel that from this poem. Beautiful and sad.

    Reply

  2. tikarmavodicka
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 02:08:46

    I really feel the love and heart ache in your poem and the sense of loss and longing. Beautiful in its expression as much as it touches the heart with the sadness of loosing someone you love.

    Reply

  3. JACK GLATTER
    Jan 31, 2012 @ 09:16:21

    Love you, Jen. –Dad

    Reply

  4. Grandfathersky
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 17:23:12

    Tearful, like the tree of life, love will live always in our hearts …

    Reply

  5. Cindy Dyer
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 00:52:32

    Even without knowing the back story of your loss, I can appreciate the beauty of this poem. It is simply beautiful.

    Reply

  6. Shanee
    Mar 03, 2012 @ 11:07:23

    Made me cry…the ache of loss so vivid, and familiar.

    Reply

  7. aed12
    Mar 10, 2012 @ 09:25:25

    I read this with tears–love you so much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

