A Study In Tears

I have always known the tears of injustice

Laced with fear and aggression

They fall across my cheek

Burning furrows

Thoughts swell

Grey clouds

The tears of injustice fall like acid rain.

 

I also know the tears of being a woman

A woman of a certain age

Endued in estrogen

I stand at my sink

Washing the dishes with my grief

(Hearts can spend a lifetime breaking)

And with my lashes

Hormone wet and weighted

I finally shut my eyes

To look for new answers within.

 

But now as you

My Mirror

come to me sick

It is the first time in years

I feel the warm wet

Of Pure sadness

The tears I shed for you

Are holy water

Released from my eyes

And pouring with affection

I now know the grace

Of the true clear clement

Tears of Compassion.

Dear One,

Let me hold you

Let me hold you until you are strong enough

To once again stand on your own two feet.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 90dphillips
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 04:55:05

    Beautiful in a way I can’t compare to. It’s unique and I love it. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Grandfathersky
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 05:56:12

    Reading this beautiful story of the heart I thought I would share ‘Buckets full of living” with you … God Bless … – gs

    Reply

  3. Grandfathersky
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 05:56:43

    Reply

  4. greatpoetrymhf
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 23:55:56

    Reblogged this on Greatpoetrymhf’s Weblog and commented:
    Tears by jeglatter…..a great find for my holiday reading…..

    Reply

  5. fiercebuddhist
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 00:52:57

    Very moving!

    Reply

  6. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 02:43:45

    Reblogged this on ladybluerose.

    Reply

  7. The Journey
    Mar 03, 2012 @ 21:04:57

    Very filling.. I like this writing 🙂 Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Reply

  8. lmwills1
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 10:16:46

    Beautiful!

    Reply

  9. boomiebol
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 11:13:04

    Nice, Thanks for visiting my blog, and liking my post-Untitled: High-Five Moment. I will be back for some more great stuff on your blog.

    Reply

  10. tornadoday
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 18:23:10

    A wise man once said that joy and sorrow come to you together. While one is eating at your table, the other is sitting on your bed. To be honest, it wasn’t that exactly…..but I’ve come to understand that the worst thing to happen to us can be the best thing to happen to us……..for in our brokenness, we find our beauty. Truly inspired work. Thank you for having the heart to share.

    Reply

  11. danroberson
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 17:25:01

    Your tears speak in many tongues and wend their way down cheeks in lands far and near. Beautifully written.

    Reply

  12. manhattanscreenwriter
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 17:51:13

    I especially liked:
    ‘The tears I shed for you

    Are holy water

    Released from my eyes’

    Reply

  13. Liz Brownlee
    Apr 05, 2012 @ 01:18:18

    Awww. I recognise some of this. Lovely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

