Kirtan

Our first-born

named

“Not like anyone else”

has grown with the talent

to take photos revealing

the beauty in everything else.

 

Our second-born

named

“Moonlight”

lights up a room

with her smile–

she radiates woman energy

caring for the next two.

 

Our third-born

named

“Beautiful eyes”

rarely speaks

instead she watches

and sees more clearly

than any of the rest of us.

 

Our last child

named

“Forest fire”

burns up our home

giving new love

and adventure.

 

Is it All in the Name?

 

Truth is

for me

it comes easy

to know peace

by calling

“Peace.”

 

With his voice

between my ears

and my eyes shut

we breathe in

and out

pure love

he calls

and I answer

Always repeating the Name.

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan L Daniels
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 08:57:25

    Gorgeous, gloroius!

    Reply

    • jeglatter
      Apr 19, 2012 @ 12:33:31

      I feel like typing “Yay!” back to you…I was worried that this one might just be too close to my heart to be relatable, so am pleased it worked for you. Thank you for taking the time to comment.
      -Jennifer

      Reply

  2. Worldly Winds
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 08:58:28

    Beautiful –
    On the strength of this I think I will rename my teenagers Whirlwind and Brooding Storm! (oops hope they don’t read my comment!)

    Reply

  3. SKW
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 09:21:11

    Stunning. Name, the act of naming, to me, is a continuation of the creation process God has granted us – very important and yes it defines not so much for the child but a reminder to us – so busy so in the moment – as to who we are dealing with in the house. Names – so important, so very crucial. Thanks for sharing your work.

    Reply

    • jeglatter
      Apr 19, 2012 @ 12:37:01

      I am so glad to have “met” you! I remember reading about how you chose the name for your blog. Beautiful. The names in this poem are their real names but translated as they are in Hindi.

      Reply

  4. Blü
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 11:52:53

    absolutely stunning. 🙂

    Reply

  5. sandy
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 12:20:58

    I love this one! Bravo!!

    Reply

  6. literary lew
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 13:37:39

    Great poem. And thanks for dropping by today. And your photography is beautiful. I’m gonna have to learn how to upload photos to WordPress.

    Reply

  7. leroywatson4
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 15:08:52

    Reply

  8. lily2u1
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 16:14:06

    I feel as though I am walking in a forest, 250 years ago, hearing how the children were named and how they naturally were, one with Nature, individuals and also part of a tribe; there is so much inherent peace in this poem and in this family. Beautiful! ~ Lily

    Reply

  9. readinpleasure
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 03:48:52

    Ah, so these are real names of your kids. Jenny, you create so much love and beauty through your writing. You are truly amazing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

