Hopeless Gravity

Gravity knows

I am not coming down

any time soon

’cause gravity was watching

unamused

as your kisses last night

hurled me to the rafters–

doing a happy dance

on the ceiling.

 

It had been a long time

and this woman

waiting

had wilted

just bending to the law

but now,

no,

I am not coming down!

 

Those kisses…

those kisses…

have finally sent me to heaven.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan L Daniels
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 09:33:04

    Jennifer–this is wonderful 🙂

    Love the happy dance on the ceiling!

    Reply

    • nelle
      Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:00:11

      She has some wonderful poetry, so to her grandmother. I’d like to say I’m surprised, but I’ve grown to expect her work to captivate and hold me.

      Reply

    • jeglatter
      Apr 24, 2012 @ 21:33:44

      Thank you Susan. Got the mic. and am going to try it out at my writers group Thursday. All of it feels like joy lately.:)
      -Jennifer

      Reply

  2. Reading Pleasure
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 09:58:42

    Seventh heaven! Well done.

    Reply

  3. nelle
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 09:59:08

    Okay, this is brilliant – clever, humorous, experiential. Who wouldn’t want to be launched to the ceiling?

    Reply

    • jeglatter
      Apr 24, 2012 @ 21:35:43

      Thanks Nelle. Yes, a good feeling to be up there.:) I had to change my usual writing music for this one.

      Reply

  4. Blü
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 13:07:35

    Happy dancing is the best. I really love the imagery you create.

    Reply

  5. momentswithmillie
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 13:48:12

    Wow. Wow. Wow. I love it.

    Reply

  6. lily2u1
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 21:35:00

    Love this! And its elation! ~Lily

    Reply

Leave a Reply

