Nursing Home

Many have fallen into a certain place of aged

Beaming souls in the midst of dementia

Some rise and some surely fall

With the burden of losing one’s mind

And still the spark is always there

Even after bodies and words falter

Stay anytime in this certain place of aged

And burning Love is revealed

He kept cookies in a tin of socks

Waiting for his Hazel to walk by so graceful,

So careful having escaped her restraint,

“Hazel, Hazel you want a cookie? ” he would cry

I remember watching as she would leave his room

A glorious radiant smile of freedom trailing chocolate

Another,

My Dear One,

lay emaciated

Any way she would rest was with pain

Cursing and pinching me as I turned her

But when I stopped with my effort

To try to make her comfortable

She would grab my head pressing her face to mine

“I love you Jenny,” was what she would say.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Scriptor Obscura
    May 08, 2012 @ 09:59:12

    I love this poem. So beautiful. It reminds me of this lovely video that I came across some time ago on YouTube…I know you will love it:

    😀

    Reply

  2. Susan L Daniels
    May 08, 2012 @ 10:00:09

    You know this one touches my heart 🙂

    And images like these—-I remember watching as she would leave his room

    A glorious radiant smile of freedom trailing chocolate

    are just so darned beautiful, and male us smile

    Reply

  3. aed12
    May 08, 2012 @ 10:39:52

    In my heart and in yours….Love you!

    Reply

  4. nelle
    May 08, 2012 @ 11:01:30

    Such words to hear.

    Reply

  5. Betty Hayes Albright
    May 08, 2012 @ 14:24:39

    Very touching poem, and you have written it beautifully. My mom lives in assisted living and has Alzheimer’s, as do many others around her. You’ve accurately described the situation – so sad, and yet love still emanates from the essence of these dear ones. Thank you for sharing your poem!

    Reply

    • jeglatter
      May 08, 2012 @ 21:17:58

      Love prevails even in the heartbreaking. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment and letting me know. I love your blog.:)
      -Jennifer

      Reply

  6. sandy
    May 08, 2012 @ 15:13:33

    Wow, if I could only put my feelings to words the way you do!

    Reply

  7. readinpleasure
    May 09, 2012 @ 02:54:07

    We have a proverb in Ghana that translates as when your parents take care of you into adulthood, you must also care for them until their teeth fall out. This is a beautiful poem celebrating the aged. We need more of these. Good work, Jennifer.

    Reply

  8. Worldly Winds
    May 11, 2012 @ 05:01:55

    So sad but beautiful – you make everything so visual 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

