Now

Death

Is in the exhale

Each moment

A rebirth

In the sweet

Breath in

I have died already ten thousand times today

And have forgiven myself for almost as many

As I breathe out

Grateful

As I inhale

The possibility of an instant

And almost as soon as I have lived it

Letting it go.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. momentswithmillie
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 06:54:59

    As always so incredibly touching

    Reply

  2. Susan L Daniels
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 06:59:30

    Oh my God. This is perfect.

    Reply

    • jeglatter
      Mar 27, 2013 @ 10:05:59

      Oh Susan, thank you. I wasn’t hard on myself at all last Spring writing so I didn’t think about it much, but I see a little of being hard on myself this Spring. So thanks for this kick in the pants of support. From now on I will pledge with you as my witness to keep “writing” it out with absolutely no care to how it appears to end up.:) -Jennifer

      Reply

  3. Dale Caron
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 07:17:45

    wow….I feel healing in this one… as I read it, my burden of self loathing jumped off my back…and a caress came…it was just for a moment, but what lingers is the Power of Now that I hold so dear…I hear music in each phrase…Bravo, you sweet Minstrel of Now…I will sing your words like mantras…thanks for this medicine.

    Reply

  4. readinpleasure
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 08:41:05

    So profound πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. purple
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 11:00:51

    I think the secret is in the letting go … I tend to hold on much too long to things I cannot … This is exquisite. (your poem, not me holding on LOL)

    Reply

    • jeglatter
      Mar 27, 2013 @ 10:01:14

      Thank you! Someone just suggested that “letting be” is better even than “letting go” in some places—something I’m thinking about.:) -Jennifer

      Reply

  6. nelle
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 11:55:23

    Oh my. Self-forgiveness is not an easy thing, no no no. You’ve really drawn me in today.

    Reply

  7. The Silver Poet
    Mar 26, 2013 @ 17:28:56

    Thats exactly it!
    and when we fall asleep it is the ultimate death and rebirth πŸ™‚ yeahhhhhh

    Reply

  8. Stef Perkins
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 11:18:58

    Beautiful. Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

