Holding Back

Why do I sit

with my hands

in my lap

instead of reaching

them out

to hold you

or to move my fingers

gently through your hair

What keeps me

away from the very thing

that would give pleasure

Is there only a

right time to touch

and a right person

to be sitting next to

or are there

just barriers

that get in the way

of all of us

worshiping

our connection?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. literary lew
    Jun 22, 2013 @ 03:30:47

    You raised a good question, “Why do I refuse to make connection” so often and thus perpetuate my isolation. It is scary to deign to reach a trembling hand across that abyss that separates us. But I’ve spent most of my life not even knowing the abyss was there, lost in a solitude beyond my understanding. This blogging is one way in which I’m crawling out of the darkness and discovering the world.

    Reply

    • jeglatter
      Jun 22, 2013 @ 05:06:15

      πŸ™‚ I agree, blogging is a wonderful way to connect without the barrier of place and biases towards things like outer appearance. Being away from the US right now, I was noticing cultural barriers to connection as compared to where I am now. And I was thinking about touch in particular. And wondering how many people would be happier if it came easier to us. -Jennifer

      Reply

  2. Charles Banks, Jr.
    Jun 22, 2013 @ 12:14:48

    A pleasure to read. I do often wonder why we (people) tend to starve themselves of the splendors of love. Nice write!

    – Charles

    Reply

  3. ItTakesAnOcean
    Jul 03, 2013 @ 18:37:41

    Beautiful. Lots of barriers to break down. Lots of courage needed to do it!

    Reply

  4. johannisthinking@wordpress.com; pedalpushingthoughts@wordpresss.com
    Jul 22, 2013 @ 14:17:26

    your words have described “our distance” from one another well…when I lived in Kenya for a couple of years and had to return here (USA)…it was so incredibly difficult…the people of Kenya were open…no pretense…

    Reply

    • jeglatter
      Jul 22, 2013 @ 16:47:14

      πŸ™‚ Yes, I had been in Indonesia and so well taken care of, I began to see all the ways I hold back here. One big way is with barriers to physicality. Thank you so much for your feedback today. πŸ™‚ -Jennifer

      Reply

Leave a Reply

