My Rotation

The world moves

as it is

balanced on its own pole

and so it is

with each of us

an axis inside

so unique

I can not move

(I will not)

from your orientation

instead I stand

my own line

firmly drawn

right through my core

(after a lifetime

of moving

from other people’s centers

I had almost forgotten

my own

and what a day lived

really feels like

and what colors

are born

when I watch

the rising of

my own sun).

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ittymac
    Jul 22, 2013 @ 07:54:58

    Lyrical perfection.

    Reply

  2. literary lew
    Jul 22, 2013 @ 13:43:37

    Nice! This reminds me of of a snippet of a poem by Stanley Kunitz: I have walked through many lives, some of them my own, and I am not who I was, though some principle of being abides, from which I struggle not to stray. Lewis Chamness ph. 479 422-4777

    Reply

  3. Linton's Legacy
    Jul 23, 2013 @ 09:08:24

    Hi,
    Every word has been used for maximum effect and its message really resonates with me. How I wish I could capture that moment of self realisation so and portray it so beautifully.

    Talia

    Reply

  4. Michele Anderson
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 15:17:16

    Hi, Jennifer 🙂 I’m giving you the Versatile Blogger Award. I will send out a post either later today or tomorrow. Congratulations!

    Reply

  5. Holistic Wayfarer
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 17:33:20

    Interesting. Your message(s) resonated with me instantly. I’ve written along the same strands.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

