My Dear Friend

She has a voice

And I have studied the “shsssssss”

And the “mmmmmms”

In it

For so long

I have learned the tone

That make the words

Hers

And hers alone

Once

She laughed

And threw me an

“apple”

And I knew

Outside

On that cool Fall day

That she was missing

Pie baked

Her grandmother’s

Hug

And so I caught it

And brought it back to her

To feed her

With my arms

(My Dear Friend,

As long as I live

You will never starve).

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. nelle
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 16:30:21

    Nice sentiment…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

