My Favorite Place to Write

My favorite place to write

Is on the couch we bought

Fourteen years ago

When we didn’t have the money

That room was bare

Except for the gold already gleaming off the hardwood

And the yellow, green pasture

Just shining though the big bay window

We picked out the fabric

Choosing to cover our seat with roses

I still remember how good it felt

To nurse those babies on that couch

Surrounded in more beauty than I will ever know

Three houses later

A mansion filled with furniture

Every morning

After we leave them at school

I come home to make tea

And sit on our old rose couch

To write

And remember…

couch

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. literary lew
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 12:23:31

    Nice! And the picture of the couch was really sweet. Wish I could share a cup of tea with you and your husband sometime!

    Reply

  2. diannejwilson
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 13:14:36

    I love this 🙂

    Reply

  3. RoSy
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 18:01:06

    Made me smile 🙂

    Reply

  4. nelle
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 19:03:11

    Memories are priceless, and sometimes the things we touch touch our memories.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

