February 11, 2014

Today

In my first warm step out

And as I stood before the moon

I was surprised by her smell

So well-remembered

(And as my love is)

That I grabbed it in that instant

To take her sweet joy

And claim it as mine —

Oh,

That first spring breath of honeysuckle before dawn!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol Carlisle
    Feb 11, 2014 @ 19:24:19

    Honeysuckle before dawn marvelous !!

    Reply

  2. Angela
    Feb 12, 2014 @ 04:13:35

    Oh, I just love this! I was lost in the romance of it and was imagining the wonderful notion of what the moon would smell like… and then it was a breath of honeysuckle. You just layered delight on to delight. 🙂 x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

