Washing Hands

I sat by the sea

Palms down in coral sand

To let the mermaid cry over them

Until sharp grains became mud in my hands

I spent the day

Shaping a great castle of my dreams

Until I could see every step, every chair, every tree

I stopped to feel the warmth of it seep into my heart

And that is how I came to hold my sparkling brand new start

Dear One,

Sometimes we don’t let go

Even though it hurts

When all we ever need to do

Is imagine more beauty

Than the pain we are holding in our hands.

sandI

 

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. nelle
    Mar 08, 2014 @ 05:06:42

    I live this one a lot. “Shaping a great castle of my dreams” Nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

