Sunset Symphony in Three Movements

As the sun began to set

And paint its sparkling gold

The small ones chirped and jumped

Until I ran to catch a view

But they teased and jumped further

Their sweet trills fading into the trees

Into a silence that glowed as orange

As the sky was

And with that fullness

The lonely ones came to call

Back and forth

One to the other

Caw caw

Caw caw

When a haze of purple fell to the hush

Under the crows song

And they danced in groups

Over the mountain

Until it was black.

IMG_0827

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. parachuteplanner
    Mar 18, 2014 @ 08:49:57

    I love writing poetry, and I often spend moments in nature where I’m like “I would love to be able to capture this exact moment and put it on the page”. My struggle is that I get bogged down in introspection and lose track of where I am, and the poem becomes directionless. I think you’ve managed to do what I wish I could in this poem, I really like it. Thanks for posting it :).. PP

    Reply

Leave a Reply

