Finding (the Joy in) Balance

Balance is found

In the tasting of it all

The sour and the sweet

No matter preference

Balance is found

In the loving of every part

Not just parts that seem

Loveable to me

But in the grabbing

Of the parts

I had left lagging behind

And boosting them up

To meet

The level of glory

Given all the rest

Balance is found

In making my whole self strong

So no matter what the wind

I will face it

With the exact, right muscle

It takes

For my body to dance

Without ever needing to break.

balance

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: My life is in such turmoil right now | Spiritual Lives Of Women
  2. Patricia-Ann Constance-Wilson Gallagher Perkowski
    Aug 06, 2014 @ 12:20:10

    This post made such a wonderful companion to my blog post today http://pattyperkowski.com/2014/08/06/my-life-is-in-such-turmoil-right-now/

    Reply

  3. jjhiii24
    Aug 06, 2014 @ 14:32:25

    Jenny,

    As always, your thoughtful verse moves me in ways that often surprise and delight, and this entry stands out as one of those.that does so especially well.

    “The tasting of it all…in the loving of every part…in the grabbing of the parts left behind…and boosting them up to meet the glory of the rest…in making my whole self strong…” These are powerful ways of pointing ourselves in the direction of balance and you are really on to something in this expression.

    “Facing the wind with the exact right muscle it takes for my body to dance,” is a particularly apt measurement for judging our sense of balance, and the metaphor could easily be extended into the dance of life itself.

    What a treasure you are, and such gifts are both rare and beautiful.

    Warm regards…..John H.

    Reply

    • jeglatter
      Aug 08, 2014 @ 12:10:27

      John, It means so much to me to have my poems read so carefully and to be heard in that way. Thank you for you feedback and for your always kind reading!:)
      -Jennifer

      Reply

Leave a Reply

