The Risk in Gifts and Skill

What would I be

If somehow

My biggest gift

Was taken far away from me

What if I could no longer

Do

The very thing that makes me

Special

And what then

If everything I value

Was somehow lost

What if I was left with just me

Me with no frills

Me with no particular talent or skill

What if I was just

Here

Here without all the things

I have learned to hold so dear

I think maybe

My heart would pump

And my mind

Might be so much more

Clear

In fact I think

I might finally know—

That anything I do or say

Will be enough

That to be just me

Will be enough

That the real reason

I have always been

Here

Is so simple

And so true

I am

Here

To be love

Yes,

I am here to be love

With you.

Leave a Reply

